We lost a great person yesterday. And my heart remains broken.

I was going to take a page out of Wil Wheaton’s book next month and force myself to do a daily post all through January and perhaps see if I keep it going from there. Of course I was going to start on January 1, 2017 shortly after watching the first episode of the fourth season of Sherlock from the BBC. Of course the obvious is things have changed.

Carrie Fisher, the world’s most beloved royal not born to royalty, a person who gave us the best lines for both foes and loved ones, a woman who wasn’t ashamed of telling the world she had bi-polar and worked very hard to make all mental illness stigmas disappear died early Tuesday morning despite the support of an entire galaxy for her to get better. I am sure you have heard about it by now, the Internet once again exploded (is anyone by chance keeping track of the number of times it has in fact exploded?) with the news on every. Single. Social. Media.

Like many, MANY people of my age and older, Star Wars; Episodes 4, 5 and 6 had quite the impact on our lives. The first movie came out the same year I was born, and I didn’t even see any of them until I was in 7th or 8th year of school. I was living with my Aunt, Uncle and cousins at that time and my uncle rented a VHS player (back when those could be rented) and all three Star Wars movies for the weekend.

I don’t remember the date at all. What I do remember is claiming my favorite arm chair, a large bowl of popcorn and settling in. My younger cousins weren’t really into watching anything that wasn’t cartoon so they went off to play in their room or watch their own movie, I have absolutely no idea what they were doing.

I’m not going to tell you that the moment the opening crawl began I was snagged. To be perfectly honest, it probably wasn’t until the end if not the next movie that got me locked in. I do remember thinking Luke was sort of cute, and it may have been that thought alone that pushed me into the next movie.

What I absolutely remember while watching the movies is that the chair developed a heart beat. I could feel it in my back as if I was sitting on someone’s lap and could feel their heart. I remember that very clearly. I have never had that happen before and I do not believe I’ve had it since. I watched all three movies at least twice that weekend.

I do not what exactly about these movies I adored so damn much. It could very well may have been because I developed a crush on Luke Skywalker. No matter what it was, I eventually fell for the whole universe. Carrie’s Leia as well as all of the others. Although if truth be told, R2D2 was until very recently my most favorite of all–now of course I can add BB8 and K-S2O, C-3PO comes in a close last and only because he really is a bit annoying at some points.

When I heard that Carrie was taken to the hospital because of a heart attack, my own heart leapt to my throat and all I could think was “Don’t you fucking DARE 2016!” As if the year itself had any doing upon what has been happening during it, but we all of course need to point the finger at something or someone. Even at the very mention of a possibility I wanted to cry. Of course I felt a bit better when news spread that she was in stable condition although still in ICU. I suppose that made Tuesday that much more painful.

I could barely get the words out of my mouth as I read them from my screen. I held my breath as I searched through news sites and trying, hoping to find that what I was reading was another in a long line of hoaxes. Even though I think I was reading the news on a reliable source, anyone can make a mistake thinking a story is true, and one like this is certainly considered news breaking and sources are still interested in breaking any news first.

As always, those who are still living will continue to live and continue to hurt but we’ll also continue to remember and miss all those we have lost, not just in 2016 which may or may in fact not be a year where so many things and people died than any other, but throughout our entire lives.

And on that, I have collected quite a few stories, articles, tweets, pictures, videos, etc. on this and it’s taken quite a while to do so. In fact an entire day. I haven’t even hit Facebook yet! But I do see that I have 90 Notifications for it.

Below you will find the documents I created for each of the articles I found, complete with pictures and where allowed, videos as well as the original urls. First part is the title of the article followed by what network it was on (CNN, Hollywood Reporter, NPR, etc.). Feel free to check them out, download them, share them, maybe even read them. Just remember her and not JUST for Princess/General Leia Organa.

4-surprising-facts-that-show-carrie-fisher-was-more-than-just-princess-leia-mic-network

carrie-fisher-opens-up-about-star-wars-the-gold-bikini-and-her-on-set-affair-npr

carrie-fisher-today

carrie-fisher-cnn

carrie-fishers-books-become-best-sellers-after-her-death-msn

for-star-wars-fans-losing-carrie-fisher-is-like-losing-a-family-member-hollywood-reporter

hollywood-mourns-iconic-hollywood-reporter

how-carrie-fisher-wanted-her-obit-hollywood-reporter

leias-journey-from-princess-to-general-highlights-the-best-of-star-wars-hollywood-reporter

watch-carrie-fishers-audition-for-star-wars-a-new-hope-hollywood-reporter

carrie-fishers-death-what-we-know-now-usa-today

debbie-reynolds-dies-at-84-usa-today

photos

ETA (12-29-16): Adding new documents from new materials found. This is probably going to happen a lot I am afraid.

not-my-job-carrie-fisher

carrie-fisher-i-was-quite-the-space-slut-telegraph-uk

 

ETA (7:57pm Central Time US December 28, 2016): Carrie Fisher’s mom Debbie Reynolds just died as well  so hearts are going out to the family even more now. Must be horrible for Billie having her mother and grandmother die so close together.

“Debbie Reynolds died after she was rushed to the hospital Wednesday, as reported by the Associated Press. She was 84.

Reynolds was hospitalized after suffering what TMZ and the Los Angeles Times said was a medical emergency.

Reynolds lost her daughter, Carrie Fisher, on Tuesday. Fisher died at a Los Angeles hospital days after suffering a heart attack on a plane last week. She was 60.

TMZ was the first to report the news, saying Reynolds was at her son Todd Fisher’s home in Beverly Hills planning her daughter’s funeral and may have suffered a stroke. The outlet reported Reynolds has been distraught since Fisher’s health declined last Friday.

The Los Angeles Times also reported Reynolds was rushed to the hospital, adding that she complained of breathing problems.

The Los Angeles Fire Department confirmed they responded to a call for medical assistance from a house on Coldwater Canyon Drive in Beverly Hills (because the LAFD’s station was closer) shortly after 1 p.m. local time. LAFD spokeswoman Margaret Stewart told USA TODAY that an “adult female” in “fair to serious condition” was transported to Cedars Sinai Hospital, the closest to the address.

Because of a federal privacy law, emergency services can’t identify patients.

Reynolds had been giving periodic updates on Fisher while her daughter lay in the hospital, first telling fans Fisher was “stable” and on Tuesday confirming her death with a touching note.

“Thank you to everyone who has embraced the gifts and talents of my beloved and amazing daughter. I am grateful for your thoughts and prayers that are now guiding her to her next stop. Love Carries Mother,” she wrote on Facebook.

The Oscar-nominated actress is grandmother to Fisher’s only child, daughter Billie Lourd, 24.

Copyright 2016 KING”

http://www.wfaa.com/entertainment/report-debbie-reynolds-rushed-to-hospital/379894226

Apparently, she missed her daughter way too much. I hope Todd (Carrie’s little brother) doesn’t follow suit and that Billie has all the support close to her as we all feel the pain.

Until next time, hold those you love close, if you can’t hold them close, tell them how much you love them, if you cannot do that then show them. There is always a way to tell someone you love them, but only if they are listening.

Categories: Celebrity, Hollywood, News | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

