Anthropology

I am going to need to make a trek to CNM to put in a transfer request so I can get ready for Summer term at a real four year university. Work is going extremely well. I enjoy playing with the newspaper as I do and I am getting better with less mistakes. I think my supers are surprised to find how quickly I have picked up on this. Don’t know why everyone is surprised, I’ve been around computers for ages, my associates is in web technology so I am always using image and text editing software. I am only disappointed in the fact I am not creating things from my own imagination, but I am still happy with the work and what I am producing. I hope the people who look at the Albuquerque Journal online enjoy how easy it is for them to read the paper!

On a different note, I got a fantastic grade on my forensic midterm. It’s the only Midterm I had this term which is both great and disappointing. Other classes are going well if not annoying in some ways. I’m on my last term and I’m getting a little Senioritis…as in I just want to get this over with, despite the fact that I really do love this stuff. I don’t love ALL of it of course. Not thrilled with PHP as I don’t really understand it and truthfully need to seriously read up on it as I need to include it in my final project and I’m feeling so very clueless at the moment. And the time she is a running.

So in my tv show watching I came across a situation that made me raise an eyebrow. Anyone who has seen the latest episode of “Monday Mornings” know what I am going to talk about perhaps, but let me clue in the rest of you.

Have you ever heard of Alienation of Affection? Basically it is the power to sue a home-wrecker for ending your marriage or getting into your marriage and it’s a real thing. BUT you have to live in one of the EIGHT states who have not abolished the cause of action of Alienation of Affections through legislation. Hawaii, Illinois , Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, South Dakota and Utah are those eight states. The other 42 states started to abolish this tort action beginning in 1935, deeming it a an archaic but legal way to exact revenge.

I think it is a BRILLIANT way to exact revenge! And why the fuck not? It works both ways so neither sex is safe from being sued. It is a great deterrent I’d think but there are some details one will want to know before jumping aboard this ship…

An alienation of affection lawsuit is one in which a deserted spouse can sue the alleged third party if his or her partner leaves the relationship for another person and causes the marital relationship to fail. To prevail on the claim, the plaintiff needs to prove that:

-Love between the married spouses existed prior to the onset of the relationship; and
-The marital love was alienated and destroyed as a result of the relationship with the third-party; and
-The third party’s conduct was a malicious interference with the marital relationship.
-The plaintiff need not prove that the third party set out to destroy the marriage. It is enough to show that she or he engaged in conduct that was foreseeable to impact the relationship in a negative manner.

The defendant in these cases can protect him or herself from the claim through several recognized defenses including:

-The Defendant lacked knowledge of the spouse’s marital status
-The Defendant was not the aggressor in the relationship with the spouse.
-The Plaintiff’s spouse was so unhappy in the marital relationship that it negated the love between the married spouses.
And, it turns out, adulterous homewreckers aren’t the only ones that need to fear these suits in the eight states that still recognize them because the deserted spouse does not need to prove extramarital sexual contact. The defendant in an alienation of affections suit is typically an adulterous spouse’s lover; however, family members, counselors, therapists or clergy members who have advised a spouse to seek divorce may also be named in such suits.

What gets me is the fact that the Plaintiff doesn’t have to prove much but there has to be something there that is documented, but the Defendant has to prove they didn’t know, wasn’t the aggressor and that the Plaintiff’s spouse was so unhappy in the marital relationship. It is fitting I believe as people have been treating marriage like crap for decades. I find it extremely funny how one of the main or loudest reasons why gay people should not be allowed to marry is that they will destroy the institution of marriage.  I think that’s already been done!

It's already destroyed.

It’s already destroyed.

I would use this to sue someone who broke up my marriage without even thinking twice about it. I never understood cheating. If you are unhappy in your relationship, get out of it! Yeah that may mean a divorce but seriously that is better than being a jackass. I am not too sure about that whole “Once a cheat always a cheat” thing however. I do like giving people the benefit of a doubt but if I’m cheated on no matter what the reason (as there is no excuse really) I am out of there, married or not. Always have been that way and there’s no reason to change now.

Just discovering the show ‘The Neighbors‘ and OMG that shit is funny. Should be an interesting watch and I am snagging the rest of the episodes available. Can’t wait to watch some more now.

Until next time, bigotry wrapped in prayer is still bigotry. If you’ve read the bible and you think that it says gay marriage should be illegal, that’s nice. But you might also want to read the constitution that says your religion doesn’t get to make laws in this country. Separation of Church and State. It’s pretty great. Also, you might want to read some other parts of the bible; the ones that says polyester,  shrimp, lobster, vegetable gardens all are sins.

Never all here am I.

Categories: Anthropology, News | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

