Class cancelled for the day.

Nothing makes me sadder than when a class is cancelled for the day, but that’s what happened to Anthropology yesterday (Wednesday). We were just going to watch the sixth episode of season one of National Geographic show ‘Taboo’ (which I watched Tuesday night) and since it hit on things I already talked about in the last post so we’re pretty up-to-date. Not much more can be said on marriage and how different cultures view it and other family related things (that Americans may find taboo!) so if you wish to reread the last post, feel free.

Not much else to say really. Haven’t written a word over at NaNoWriMo (did you know that is short for National Novel Writing Month? It’s the only way I actually remember how the short version goes!) Thanksgiving is the next big holiday around these parts. Quite possible will make a couple of pumpkin pies this weekend because let’s face it, pumpkin pies are yum and should be enjoyed any day of the year and I can make two pies for the price of one store bought. Also I get to choose what to put it in if any extras–like the horrible aversion/allergy I have to regular sugar leaving me to use Splenda which I do not mind. Better than being sick at least. Also have a new recipe for pumpkin cheesecake that I am dieing to try out, perhaps I’ll make that in addition to pumpkin pies for Thanksgiving. I wouldn’t be forgiven if I didn’t have at least ONE pumpkin pie.

So, what are your holiday traditions? Thanksgiving or Christmas? Thanksgiving is all about food for me. I make apple salad that is an old family recipe/tradition and pies. Of course we have turkey or pot roast or something meaty (not ham, I can’t stand ham for some strange reason but will eat pig in just about any other form) and stuffing, mashed potatoes with gravy, cranberry sauce (jellied), bread/biscuits and random other food things. Christmas is sort of the same but with presents being opened the moment everyone is awake generally. Or if we’re really excited about what we got someone we allow a “Christmas Eve” opening of one gift. Although last year Christmas was at Galveston Island Texas (on the beach) so we actually did Christmas before we left on the trip…..which was weird but fun.

I like travelling to places I haven’t been or love to go. Usually trips that last for longer than a few hours and require hotel rooms and tanks of gas. Tomorrow we’re going to take a drive through the Jemez Mountains to look at the change in the foliage before we get a storm that blows all the leaves off the trees. Then we’re going to the movies (or before the drive–not quite sure) and see Skyfall. Yeah, big Double-o-seven fan. Don’t really have a favorite as I started watching them when Pierce Brosnan played Bond, but I do have the entire collection and might think about sitting down sometime and watching them all….when I have the time as that is countless hours and I am doing good to sit through a two hour movie without squirming. Can almost not make it through most of my classes. Not much of a sit still person specially if something pops in my head that I need/want to do. Also, I have a hard time leaving projects unfinished. Like a lego set (and I do have MANY a lego set), I have to complete the entire thing in one sitting. The grand exception of course is when I put the Death Star together. That’s over three thousand pieces and there was no way I was going to finish that mother in one sitting!!!

Okay, rambled enough for one post.

Until next time, try not to think about the fact that the seventh Star Wars movie will more in likely be written by the guy who wrote Toy Story 3. *cry*

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

