Hello world!

All right that sounds like a good enough subject for the first post.

Not my first blog, but I kept ending up at wordpress stuff so I figured why the hell not? And seeing as starting summer 2013 I’ll be attending poor UNM (university near mommy indeed) as an Anthropology major it might be fun to keep track of what I’m going through as I start this “magical journey”. Try saying that sentence without smiling, I sure in the hell couldn’t type it without a smile and quite the ladylike snort. Ah who am I kidding, there was nothing ladylike about that snort.

At the moment I am attending the lovely community college of CNM in Albuquerque New Mexico where I will be getting my Associate’s degree in web technologies at the end of spring term (which is next term). Which I found out a little too late that there is absolutely no way to get a higher degree in this state for that subject which I am quite proficient in. So I have decided since I have always adored history and I will admit that Indiana Jones has a place in my heart always, that studying more into anthropology (which goes deeper than just archaeology) is a logical step. That and I am taking an Intro to Anthropology as an additional class in my current term at CNM and as we have just past the midterm which I found to be quite simple and have a feeling like this stuff is sinking into my thick skull (or the teacher went really easy on us) . I guess I’ll find out just how good I really did tomorrow when she hands us back our midterms and mini research papers we did.

I am sure anyone who has had any anthro or archaeological training will scoff at the mention of Indiana Jones, and really, you shouldn’t. Yes, he’s not a real archaeologist (everyone is quite aware of this) and his methods even make me cringe but you have to admit he did bring a new interest into the field. No being an anthropologist isn’t as exciting as the show ‘Bones’ would led you to believe, and not every archaeological dig is a big adventure and you don’t always find something of great value, but those of us who seriously look into the career of anthropology/archaeology know these things already and are not jumping into things with certain highly false hopes or dreams. Give us some credit, geez.

My biggest disappointment so far has been Zahi Hawass. Before “Chasing Mummies” I thought he was a good archaeologist and paid attention to the stuff he would say (when I could understand him) but after? I can’t even look at him seriously anymore, and what’s worst is I never actually watched any of the episodes, just the commercials. But that was really enough. I do not know his reasoning for ruining his career and I am sure there are those who do not believe he has (although how I am uncertain) but I have not seen him in much since that show thankfully died and was buried forever in an unmarked area that hopefully no one will unEarth. Even the stuff he was in before the death of his career I pay little attention to when he speaks. I have no respect for him at all and can no longer bring myself to listen to what he has to say. Okay so I listen, but I don’t take a lot of stock in what he’s saying I guess.

I know many disagree with me. Somehow. And I respect that. But it’s really not here or there or anywhere if you think about it. I plan to use this blog (when I remember to do so that is) as a sounding board on my lessons in anthropology and how I feel I am doing in my academic career and if I am still getting things to sink into my thick skull or not. There might even be times I throw in other things that is going on in my life, like perhaps the pending move to a state that has an ocean on one if not more sides of it (I’m originally from Seattle Washington and I miss large bodies of water terribly, specially now that I have made a couple of trips to see my beloved Pacific Ocean) and I do read a lot. Both eBooks and the actually bound ones. As much as I do love the eBook concept of being able to carry a whole library in your pocket (and believe me I do) every once in awhile I have to pick up a bound book and read it. So expect a lot of anthropology type themes, with other things thrown in for taste (or sometimes lack there of depending on topic) and know that they could be few and in between. Which is why the Cheshire is included. I love to write, but sometimes I just plain forget I have a blog. This would be the third I have out there. Counting this one; two are public and the more private one I hardly remember to add entries to either. The other one that is public is more themed around the book (that has absolutely nothing to do with anthropology for now at least) I have been trying to write for what feels like ages. Whenever I have a low in work or school I start the research and mapping it out again but never really do much else. I’m better at just getting an idea and working my way to that idea. Usually starts at the ending and I figure out how I can get people to that ending in my head and sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.

I did mention I like to write yes? I’m also good with computers and I love creating things. I have built two desktop computers; my latest one being a fantastic gaming one which I do like to do as well. I have many talents, know that at least.

Until next time, stay out of dark corners in round rooms.

Categories: Anthropology, Books, Interests, New Start | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

